Petty, Earnhardt, Johnson, and France Duo Are NASCAR Hall of Fame's First Inductees

There you have it. Right there in the title. NASCAR announced its first Hall of Fame inductees today at 4:00 EDT. It was televised on ESPNEWS. Were you there? In case you weren’t, Stock Car Spin has you covered.

The inductees are:

Richard Petty

Dale Earnhardt

“Big” Bill France

Bill France Jr.

Junior Johnson

I was a little surprised that both members of the France family were inducted. But both of them were instrumental in creating NASCAR and bringing the sport into the national spotlight. I was glad Junior Johnson made it in, as I was afraid perhaps his accomplishments as a driver and an owner might be overlooked by some. Obviously, Petty and Earnhardt were basically locks to get in with their 7 championships apiece.

The only thing I do not like about this class is that it does not contain enough people. Many drivers, such as David Pearson, Cale Yarborough, and Bobby Allison, as well as owners were deserving of a spot in the inaugeral class. But if you could pick only 5 people, these were about the most deserving guys you could find.

Congratulations to all of the members of the inaugeral NASCAR Hall of Fame class.

Tags: Bill France Bill France Jr Dale Earnhardt Junior Johnson Richard Petty

comments powered by Disqus