Jimmie Johnson: Lightning Can't Strike Twice

Can lightning strike twice?

Not if you ask current NASCAR Sprint Cup Series points leader Jimmie Johnson.

During the 10:00 A.M. (EST) telecast of Sportscenter on ESPN, a segment on today’s race at Phoenix International Raceway was run. During the segment, a video from yesterday of Johnson doing a press conference was shown. During the conference, Johnson was taking questions on the championship, and about his misfortunes from last week at Texas.

One of Johnson’s quotes when referring to his accident:

“I don’t believe lightning can strike twice.”

Johnson finished:

“At least, I hope it can’t.”

Johnson seems pretty confident. But consider this fact before you completely rule out the whole “Lightning can strike twice theory”. It already has once for Johnson this year. Back at Talladega in April, Johnson finished 30th after crashing late. The next week at Richmond, he finished 36th after wrecking once again.

It should be interesting to see what happens.

Tags: Jimmie Johnson

comments powered by Disqus