Jimmie Johnson Wins AP Athlete of the Year; Cloris Leachman is Second

If you haven’t heard by now, Jimmie Johnson has been crowned the Associated Press’ 2009 Athlete of the Year.

The NASCAR driver beat out Roger Federer, Usain Bolt, and every football, baseball, basketball, soccer, and hockey player on the face of the earth. Johnson is the first NASCAR driver ever to win the award.

Actress Cloris Leachman finished second.

Alright, not literally. But she might as well have.

Johnson won the award because of his uncanny ability to lead a parade around in circles for 4 hours. Week after week. Unfortunately for Leachman, who lead the 2009 Tournament of Roses Parade, she only got to lead one parade around for a few hours. And that happened 355 days ago.

The AP probably forgot about her already.

In all seriousness, congrats to Johnson on his award. And if nothing else, at least this officially means, contrary to popular belief, that NASCAR is indeed a sport.

I think…

Tags: Cloris Leachman Jimmie Johnson

comments powered by Disqus