Focusing On Indy: Who Will Win The 500?

As we approach Memorial Day weekend, it’s time for us to switch our racing focus to “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing”: The Indianapolis 500.

It’s one of the few non-NASCAR events we get to really talk about, and today, I want to ask you one question: Who will win the 2010 Indianapolis 500?

The favorites:

Helio Castroneves: The Penske driver and defending 500 champ is on Pole for Sunday’s event.

Will Power: Teammate to Castroneves; already has two Indycar wins this season.

Dario Franchitti: Defending series champion; won the 500 in 2007.

Ryan Briscoe: Nearly won both the 500 and the championship last year; always a threat. Another Penske driver.

Alex Tagliani: Looked good all month with his new team.

Scott Dixon: Won the event in 2008. Along with Franchitti, drives for the powerhouse Ganassi team.

Graham Rahal: Reunited with his dad, Bobby. Another driver that’s been solid all month.

Marco Andretti: Hasn’t had a good month, but is always a threat at Indy.

Danica Patrick: Placed among “favorites” simply to avoid a mob of nasty comments.

Tony Kanaan: Has had about as bad of a month as one can have; due for some good luck, he’s always a threat at Indy.

Other notables include: John Andretti, Sarah Fisher, Dan Wheldon, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Mario Moraes, Raphael Matos, Ed Carpenter, Hideki Mutoh, and Vitor Meira.

I’m going with Kanaan to win it. Even from 32nd starting position, there’s nobody who wants it or deserves to win the 500, in my opinion, more than Tony Kanaan.

Your turn. Who do you think is going to win the Indianapolis 500?

Tags: Danica Patrick Dario Franchitti Indianapolis 500 Tony Kanaan

comments powered by Disqus