2011 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Nominees Announced

NASCAR unveiled it’s 25 Hall of Fame nominees on Thursday.

Headlining the list are legendary drivers Bobby Allison, Cale Yarborough, David Pearson, and Darrell Waltrip, along with 8-time champion crew chief Dale Inman, and the late car owner Raymond Parks.

The 5 new names added to the list this year are Jerry Cook, Inman, Fred Lorenzen, Jack Ingram, and T. Wayne Robertson.

Your nominees are:

Bobby Allison, 1983 Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races
Buck Baker, first driver to win consecutive Cup Series championships
Red Byron, first Cup Series champion, in 1949
Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion
• Richie Evans, nine-time NASCAR Modified champion
Tim Flock, two-time Cup Series champion
Rick Hendrick, 12-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
Jack Ingram, two-time Busch Series champion
• Dale Inman, eight-time Cup Series championship crew chief
• Ned Jarrett, two-time Cup Series champion
• Fred Lorenzen, 26 wins and winner of the Daytona 500 and World 600
• Bud Moore, 63 wins and two Cup Series titles as a car owner
• Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner
Benny Parsons, 1973 Cup Series champion
David Pearson, 105 victories and three Cup Series championships
• Lee Petty, winner of first Daytona 500 and first three-time Cup Series champion
• Fireball Roberts, won 33 Cup Series races, including the 1962 Daytona 500
• T. Wayne Robertson, helped raise NASCAR popularity as R.J. Reynolds Senior VP
• Herb Thomas, first two-time Cup Series champion, in 1951 and ’53
• Curtis Turner, early personality, called the “Babe Ruth of stock-car racing”
Darrell Waltrip, winner of 84 races and three Cup Series championships
• Joe Weatherly, two-time Cup Series champion
• Glen Wood, as driver, laid foundation for Wood Brothers’ future team success
Cale Yarborough, winner of three consecutive Cup Series titles, in 1976-78

5 of these men will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2011. So who should go?

My top choices are Yarborough, Allison, and Pearson(all 3 could have been inducted last year), along with Inman(gotta give the crew chiefs some love), and Parks(first owner to win a championship is a pretty big deal).

What do you think? Tell us your 5 or make your vote count here.

Tags: NASCAR Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus