Marcos Ambrose To Replace Kasey Kahne?

Richard Petty Motorsports may have a #9 car in 2011 after all.

News broke today that Marcos Ambrose is leaving JTG Daugherty Racing at the end of the 2010 season, parting ways with the team that brought him into the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

Ambrose drove for JTG Daugherty for 5 years, competing in all three of NASCAR’s top divisions with the team. But after a rough 2010 campaign, the time has come for Ambrose to start a new chapter in his young career.

And if indications are correct, Ambrose will be headed to the #9 Richard Petty Motorsports Ford to replace Kasey Kahne, who leaves his original team for Hendrick Motorsports at the end of the year. Sources have told Fox Sports that Ambrose is under consideration for the #9 ride, and has not been rumored to go anywhere else as of yet.

In all likelyhood, Ambrose will join AJ Allmendinger and Paul Menard at RPM, though nothing is certain at the moment. All we know for sure is that Marcos Ambrose will not be in the #47 Toyota for JTG Daugherty Racing next year.

Tags: AJ Allmendinger JTG Daugherty Racing Kasey Kahne Marcos Ambrose Paul Menard Richard Petty Motorsports

comments powered by Disqus