Carl Edwards celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Nationwide Series Dollar General 300 Miles of Courage at Charlotte Motor Speedway. (Photo by Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR)

Carl Edwards Backflips to Victory in the Dollar General 300 Miles of Courage

Carl Edwards sprinted away from Kyle Busch on the final restart and held off his Sprint Cup competitor to win Friday night’s Dollar General 300 Miles of Courage at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Edwards’ right side was badly damaged after hitting the wall 32 laps into the race but that didn’t stop him from steadily moving through the field.

Charlotte Motor Speedway was his eighth victory and 24th top-10 finish in 2011. This was Edwards’ sixth straight top-two finish in the NASCAR Nationwide Series.   In 241 NASCAR Nationwide Series races, Edwards has won 37 races, moving him into a tie with Kevin Harvick for third most wins all-time in the series.

Kyle Busch and Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne rounded out the top three.

Brad Keselowski who had been dominant all evening, leading three times for 119 laps, punctured a tire and ended up finishing sixth.

By virtue of his fourth-place finish, Sadler collected the Nationwide Series’ Dash For Cash bonus. He also closed the gap between himself and points leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and now trails by 15 with three races remaining. The next race for the NASCAR Nationwide Series is Saturday, November 5th, 2011 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Finishing Order:

1. Carl Edwards
2. Kyle Busch
3. Trevor Bayne
4. Elliott Sadler
5. Brian Scott
6. Brian Keselowski
7. Justin Allgaier
8. Paul Menard
9. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr
10.  Brian Vickers
11. Jason Leffler
12 Sam Hornish, Jr
13. Steve Wallace
14. Josh Wise
15. Aric Almirola
16. Kenny Wallace
17. Michael Annett
18. Blake Koch
19. Joey Logano
20. Mike Bliss
21. Timmy Hill
22. Mike Wallace
23. TJ Bell
24. Derrike Cope
25. Morgan Sheperd
26. Joey Gase
27. Kevin Lepage
28. Kasey Kahne
29. Jeremy Clements
30.  Robert Richardson, Jr
31. Eric McClure
32.  Reed Sorenson
33. Charles Lewandoski
34. Ryan Truex
35. Angela Cope
36. Kevin Conway
37. Joe Nemechek
38. Tim Andrews
39. Scott Riggs
40. Johnny Chapman
41. Scott Speed
42. Erik Darnell
43. Jeff Green

Tags: Carl Edwards Charlotte Motor Speedway Elliott Sadler Kyle Busch NASCAR Nationwide Series Ricky Stenhouse Jr Trevor Bayne

comments powered by Disqus