James Buescher celebrates after setting the pole position for the NASCAR Camping World Series Coca-Cola 250 powered by fred's at Talladega Superspeedway on October 21, 2011 in Talladega, Alabama. (Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images for NASCAR)

NCWTS: James Buescher wins the Keystone Light Pole Award at Talladega

James Buescher –in a tight battle for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship with Austin Dillon and Johnny Sauter — will start from the pole Saturday for the Coca-Cola 250 at Talladega Superspeedway.

Buescher turned in a speed of 177.676 mph for his second pole of the 2011 season.

“We thought we had a shot at the pole but we weren’t focused on it,” Buescher said. “It’s just icing on the cake.”

Nelson Piquet, Jr., in his first session in the Camping World Series, will start second.

Piquet drives for Kevin Harvick Inc., a team that is shutting down racing operations at the end of the year. He said he isn’t sure where he’ll race next year but his plan is to race part-time in Nationwide Series and full-time in Trucks competing for the championship.

“For sure, I would love to stay with them,” Piquet said of KHI. “I’m trying to sort out what team I’m going to go with next year.”

Dillon, who leads the points standings in the Truck Series, will start third.

Johanna Long had a stellar qualifying effort in her rookie NASCAR season. She’ll start eighth.

Starting Lineup:

1. James Buescher
2. Nelson Piquet Jr.
3. Austin Dillon
4. Ricky Carmichael
5. Ron Hornaday Jr.
6. Mike Wallace
7. Joey Coulter
8. Johanna Long
9. Parker Kligerman
10. Cole Whitt
11. Blake Feese
12. Matt Crafton
13. David Starr
14. Chris Fontaine
15. Timothy Peters
16. Justin Lofton
17. Kyle Busch
18. Grant Enfinger
19. Jason White
20. Johnny Sauter
21. Patrick Sheltra
22. Josh Richards
23. Max Papis
24. Miguel Paludo
25. Todd Bodine
26. Ryan Sieg
27. Dakoda Armstrong
28. Jeffrey Earnhardt
29. Brendan Gaughan
30. Ryan Hackett
31. Donnie Neuenberger
32. Wes Burton
33. JJ Yeley
34. Butch Miller
35. BJ McLeod
36. Jamie Dick
Failing to qualify:  Jennifer Jo Cobb,  Norm Benning, Mike Harmon and Clay Greenfield.
Coverage for the Coca-Cola 250 starts with NCWTS Setup at 3:30pm EST Saturday on SPEED TV. Can James Buescher win from the pole or will Ron Hornaday make it three in a row?


Tags: James Buescher Keystone Light Pole Award NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Talladega Superspeedway

comments powered by Disqus