Denny Hamlin, driver of the No. 18 Toyota/Traxxas Toyota, celebrates with a burnout after winning the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Kroger 200 at Martinsville Speedway on October 29, 2011(Photo by John Harrelson/Getty Images for NASCAR)

NCTWS: Denny Hamlin wins the Kroger 200 at Martinsville Speedway

When Kyle Busch sent Denny Hamlin a text message in September to drive the No. 18 Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports, Hamlin knew this was an opportunity he could not pass up. He knew Kyle Busch was wanting to concentrate on his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series car, and Hamlin was eager to help him.

With fresh tires, Hamlin was able to move to the front on lap 134 and never look back. This was Hamlin’s 12th start in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. With the win at Martinsville Speedway, Hamlin became the 23rd NASCAR driver to win in all three of NASCAR’s top series’.

The win for the Virginia native is definitely a confidence booster, who hasn’t won in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series since June at Michigan International Speedway.

When asked about his payment for running in the truck, Denny Hamlin said all he wants are some new RC Trucks. I’m sure he’ll have a few on his front door step come Monday morning.

Ron Hornaday Jr. ran second to make a small dent in the advantage on series points leader Austin Dillon, who finished third.  Dillon now leads the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points by 11 points over James Buescher and 15 points over Hornaday.

One of the interesting sideshows occurred between Germain Racing teammates Todd Bodine and Max Papis, who had contact on several occasions, first on pit road and then on the track, when Bodine dumped Papis.

“This is the most ridiculous thing I’ve seen in my career,” said Papis.

The next NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race is Friday night under the lights at Texas Motor Speedway.

Race Results:

1. Denny Hamlin
2. Ron Hornaday, Jr.
3. Austin Dillon
4. Johnny Sauter
5. Joey Coulter
6. Kevin Harvick
7. Cale Gale
8. Timothy Peters
9. Brendan Gaughan
10. James Buescher
11. Todd Bodine
12. Matt Crafton
13. Nelson Piquet Jr.
14. Jeff Agnew
15. Jason White
16. Miguel Paludo
17. Justin Lofton
18. Max Papis
19. Elliott Sadler
20. Grant Enfinger
21. Parker Kligerman
22. David Starr
23. Ryan Sieg
24. Clay Rogers
25. Max Gresham
26. Bryan Silas
27. Cole Whitt
28. Josh Richards
29. Norm Benning
30. Tyler Tanner
31. Matt Lofton
32. Blake Feese
33. Johanna Long
34. TJ Duke
35. Ricky Carmichael
36. Mike Garvey

Tags: Denny Hamlin Kyle Busch Motorsports Martinsville Speedway NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

comments powered by Disqus