AVONDALE, AZ - NOVEMBER 12: Aric Almirola, driver of the #88 Suave Men Chevrolet, poses after setting the pole position in qualifying for the NASCAR Nationwide Series Wypall 200 at Phoenix International Raceway on November 12, 2011 in Avondale, Arizona. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

NNS: Aric Almirola captures the pole for the Wypall 200

JR Motorsports driver, Aric Almirola, captures the pole for Saturday afternoon’s Wypall 200 from Phoenix International Raceway. Almirola’s lap was 132.910 miles per hour in his No. 88 Sauve Men Chevrolet.

This is his first pole of the 2011 season and the fifth of his Nationwide career.

Defending winner of the race, Carl Edwards, qualifying his No. 66 Roush Fenway Racing Ford Mustang second at 132.905 miles per hour. Last week’s winner, Trevor Bayne was right behind him at 132.758mph. Clint Bowyer and Sam Hornish, Jr. round out the top five.

NASCAR Nationwide Series points leader Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. qualified 11th while the guy who is 17 points back behind him, Elliott Sadler qualifying sixth.

Coverage for the Wypall 200 starts at 3:00pm EST on ESPN 2 with the NASCAR Countdown. Elliott Sadler is the in-race reporter.

Who do you think will win the race? My pick is Brad Keselowski. Let us know for bragging rights.

Staring Lineup:

1. Aric Almirola
2. Carl Edwards
3. Trevor Bayne
4. Clint Bowyer
5. Sam Hornish, Jr.
6. Elliott Sadler
7. Justin Allgaier
8. Ryan Truex
9. Joey Logano
10. Brad Keselowski
11. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
12. Kenny Wallace
13. Blake Koch
14. Joe Nemechek
15. James Buescher
16. Scott Speed
17. Mike Bliss
18. Jason Leffler
19. Michael Annett
20.  David Stremme
21. Morgan Shepherd
22. Steve Wallace
23. Reed Sorenson
24. Brian Scott
25. Danica Patrick
26.  Mark Green
27. Ricky Carmichael
28. Jeff Green
29. Matt Carter
30. Robert Richardson Jr.
31. Tim Andrews
32. Matt Frahm
33. Johnny Chapman
34. DJ Kennington
35. Tim Hill
36. Mike Wallace
37. Kevin Lepage
38. Eric McClure
39. Jimmy Clements
40. TJ Duke
41. Derrike Cope
42. Ron Hornaday
43. Chase Miller

# 13 Jennifer Jo Cobb
# 75 Carl Long
#2 Josh Wise
# 02 Daryl Harr.

Tags: Aric Almirola Elliott Sadler Jr Motorsports NASCAR Nationwide Series Phoenix International Raceway Pole Report Ricky Stenhouse Jr

comments powered by Disqus