Richard Childress and Austin Dillon pose with the championship trophy after winning the 2011 Series Championship in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Ford 200 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 18, 2011 in Homestead,Florida (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Johnny Sauter wins the Ford 200 and Austin Dillon wins the 2011 NCTWS Championship

Richard Childress Racing driver, Austin Dillon played it safe and captured his first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship. At 21 years, 6 months, and 22 days Dillon becomes the youngest champion in the series.  Dillon finished 10th at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

ThorSports Racing driver, Johnny Sauter was hoping to crash Dillon’s party and ended up having to hold off a furious challenge from Denny Hamlin and Kevin Harvick until rain came with 17 laps to go. Sauter was shortly called the winner after NASCAR threw out the red flag and brought the trucks onto pit road. This was Sauter’s second victory of the 2011 season. He will definitely be a threat for the championship next season.

This is Richard Childress Racing’s second NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship. His first came in the inaugural 1995 season with Mike Skinner as the driver.  Childress now has 12 NASCAR national series championships under his belt. This includes six NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championships, four in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, and two in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.  Austin Dillon becomes the first driver to follow up his Sunoco Rookie of the Year season with a championship the follow season.

Dillon’s Richard Chilldress Racing teammate, Joey Coulter won the 2011 Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award and Kevin Harvick, Inc. won the 2011 Owner’s Championship. As you will recall, KHI will close it’s doors after 10 years in NASCAR after Saturday’s NASCAR Nationwide Series race.

Unofficial Race Results:

1. Johnny Sauter
2. Denny Hamlin
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Nelson Piquet Jr.
5. Joey Coulter
6. Ty Dillon
7. Elliott Sadler
8. Timothy Peters
9. Jason White
10. Austin Dillon
11. David Starr
12. James Buescher
13. Ron Hornaday, Jr.
14. Parker Kligerman
15. Dusty Davis
16. Todd Bodine
17. Todd Bodine
18. Justin Lofton
19. Matt Crafton
20. Brendan Gaughan
21. Max Papis
22. Cole Whitt
23. Blake Feese
24. Ryan Sieg
25. Dakoda Armstrong
26. German Quiroga
27. Ross Chastain
28. Bryan Silas
29. Norm Benning
30. Clay Greenfield
31. Max Gresham
32. Mike Harmon
33. Miguel Paludo
34. Dennis Setzer
35. Jennifer Jo Cobb
36. Johnny Chapman





Tags: Austin Dillon Championship Johnny Sauter NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

comments powered by Disqus