Inside The NASCAR Hall of Fame

“Racing Was Built Here. Racing Belongs Here.”

Everyday this week, Stock Car Spin has brought you the profiles of the five Class of 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductees but we never really told you about the Hall of Fame.  All the professional sports have a special place to honor their  exceptional athletes, coaches, and owners and when the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing announced on March 6, 2006 that Charlotte would host the Hall of Fame, fans all around the world were so excited.

The $160 million facility broke ground on January 26, 2007 and officially opened on May 11, 2010 with the inaugural class of Dale Earnhardt, Sr., Bill France, Sr., Bill France, Jr, Junior Johnson, and Richard Petty being inducted on May 23, 2010 following the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race XXVI.

The 390,000-square-foot structure has seven main sections including the Ceremonial Plaza; Belk High Octane Theater, a 275-seat-of-the-art theater; the Great Hall, featuring rotating exhibits and a 14×18 video board; Sunoco Glory Road, a 33-degree banking ramp featuring 18 historic cars and highlighting current and historic tracks; the Hall of Honor, a wall that showcases the Hall of Fame inductees; Transporter and Racecar Simulators; Race Week Experience, simulates a week on a NASCAR team from the race prep through inspection, practice, time trials, and the race; Heritage Speedway, a look back on the history of NASCAR. You can also find a Buffalo Wild Wings, the NASCAR Hall of Fame Gear Shop, and the NASCAR Media Group-operated broadcast studio inside.

Each year five inductees are nominated by a 20-member committee that consists of NASCAR representatives, NASCAR Hall of Fame Executive Director Winston Kelly, NASCAR Hall of Fame Historian, Track owners(two from each International Speedway Corporation and Speedway Motorsports Incorporated, the Hulman family from Indianapolis Motor Speedways, the Mattioli family from Pocono Raceway, and Dover International Speedway), and four track owners from historic short tracks(Bowman-Gray Speedway, Greenville-Pickens Speedway, Riverhead Raceway, and Toyota Speedway). There are no more than 25 nominations for each Hall of Fame class.

To be eligible for a nomination, former drivers must have competed in 10 years in NASCAR and be retired from racing for a minimum of three years while non-drivers must have worked at least 10 years in the industry. The committee does take into consideration potential non-driver candidates with shorter careers if there are special circumstances.

After the nominating committee has selected its list of candidates the voting will entail a total of 53 ballots. Twenty-one ballots will be from the nominating committee, 31 from a group consisting of former drivers, former owners, former crew chiefs, manufacturer representatives and media; and one ballot remains for a nationwide fan vote.

Stock Car Spin has introduced you to the drivers who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2012, but let’s take a look at who was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame on May 24, 2011.  David Pearson, also known as The Silver Fox won the Grand National Championship in 1966, 1968, and in 1969 and won 105 career races. Bobby Allison, a charter memberof the “Alabama Gang” won the 1983 NASCAR Winston Cup Series Championship and has three Daytona 500 victories. Lee Petty, it took NASCAR three days to declare him the winner of the first Daytona 500. Ned Jarrett, also known as “Gentleman Ned Jarrett” won the 1965 Winston Cup Series championship. Bud Moore was a car owner and mechanic, drivers in his stable included Fireball Roberts, David Pearson, Cale Yarborough, Dale Earnhardt, Darrell Waltrip, Donnie Allison, Ricky Rudd, Brett Bodine, Morgan Shepherd, Bobby Isaac, Darel Dieringer, Bobby Allison, and Buck Baker. During Moore’s career, he achieved 63 wins, 43 poles, and three NASCAR Grand National Division championships.

Stock Car Spin hopes you have enjoyed our profiles on inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. The inductions ceremony is January 20, 2012 and we will have all your coverage of the event.

For more information on the NASCAR Hall of Fame, to include location and prices to get in please check their website at Whether you are a NASCAR history buff or a die-hard fan, you’ll definitely have a blast at the Hall.

Tags: Charlotte NASCAR Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus