Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images for NASCAR

2012 Bud Shootout Lineup Announced


On Wednesday, NASCAR announced the lineup of  eligible competitors for the 34th Budweiser Shootout, which kicks off SpeedWeeks at Daytona International Speedway in February.

The event launches Speedweeks at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday, Feb. 18 with a start time set for 8:10 p.m. FOX and MRN will broadcast live nationally.

The criteria to make the shootout is based upon the following qualifications, with eligibility based on a driver having been active in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series during the 2011 season.

·               The highest ranked 25 competitors in 2011 NSCS driver points
·               Previous winners at Daytona, including the Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400 Powered by Coca-Cola, and Shootout events

“By taking the top 25 competitors in last year’s driver points and combining that with former race winners at Daytona, you have all the ingredients for an extremely deep and talented field of drivers for the 2012 Shootout,” said Robin Pemberton, NASCAR vice president of competition. “When you take a look at the roster of drivers that this entails, I have to believe this is one of the most competitive fields that have ever been assembled for this event.”

The Budweiser Shootout distance is 75 laps and consists of two segments(25 and 50 laps). Of note, caution laps will count. Between the segments there will be a 10 minute pit stop allowing the eligible teams to pit for tires, add fuel, and make normal chassis adjustments.

Changing of springs, shock absorbers or rear-ends will not be permitted.

Starting positions will again be determined by a blind-draw at the annual Shootout Draw Party on Friday, Feb. 17 at 8 p.m. on the SPEED stage.

Kurt Busch is the defending winner of the Budweiser Shooutout.

Drivers eligible for the 2012 Shootout include:

2011 Top 25 Driver Points

Tony Stewart
Carl Edwards
Kevin Harvick
Matt Kenseth
Brad Keselowski
Jimmie Johnson
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Jeff Gordon
Denny Hamlin
Ryan Newman
Kurt Busch
Kyle Busch
Clint Bowyer
Kasey Kahne
AJ Allmendinger
Greg Biffle
Paul Menard
Martin Truex Jr.
Marcos Ambrose
Jeff Burton
Juan Pablo Montoya
Mark Martin
David Ragan
Joey Logano
Brian Vickers
Others (criteria in parentheses)
Bill Elliott (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Shootout)
Geoff Bodine (Daytona 500, Shootout)
Derrike Cope (Daytona 500)
Michael Waltrip (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)
Jamie McMurray (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)
Trevor Bayne (Daytona 500)
Terry Labonte (Shootout)
Ken Schrader (Shootout)

Tags: Budweiser Shootout Daytona International Speedway SpeedWeeks

comments powered by Disqus