(Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

By the Numbers: 2011 NASCAR Nationwide Series

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the 2011 Series Championship after the NASCAR Nationwide Series Ford 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 19, 2011.(Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

1–Times in the NASCAR Nationwide Series history that have won the drivers’ and owners’ championships in the same season but with different teams: Roush-Fenway Racing this year. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. won the drivers’ title, while the No. 60 won the owners’ championship.

3–Women in the May race at Iowa Speedway, the most ever in a Nationwide Series event: Jennifer Jo Cobb finished 26th, Angela Cope finished 28th, and her twin sister Amber Cope finished 32nd.

4 — Place of finish for Danica Patrick at Las Vegas, the best finish ever by a woman in any of NASCAR’s national series.

6– Races in the 2011 season that ended with a last-lap pass, a record for a single season: Tony Stewart passed Clint Bowyer at Daytona, Mark Martin passed Brad Keselowski at Las Vegas, Kyle Busch passed Trevor Bayne at Talladega, Justin Allgaier passed Carl Edwards at Chicagoland, Reed Sorenson passed his teammate Allgaier at Road America, Joey Logano passed Elliott Sadler at Daytona.

7–Times a driver who got his first series win went on to win the championship in the same Nationwide season. Other than Stenhouse, Jr. this season, Bobby Labonte in 1991, Joe Nemechek in 1992, Randy LaJoie in 1996, Dale Earnhardt, Jr. in 1998, Brian Vickers in 2003, and Martin Truex, Jr. in 2004 are some other notables.

12–Wins for Roush-Fenway Racing, its most in a single season. Four drivers won for RFR: Carl Edwards(8), Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. (2), Trevor Bayne (1) and Matt Kenseth (1)

14 – Consecutive races to end the season in which Ricky Stenhouse Jr. led the point standings, the longest streak of the season by more than four times as many races. Stenhouse took the points lead for good following the July race at Lucas Oil Raceway, after gaining 34 points in four races to overtake both Elliott Sadler and Reed Sorenson, both of whom had led during that span.

56 – Lead changes at Talladega, a series record for a single race. The previous high was 36, also at Talledaga in April 2007.

52– Starts for Kenny Wallace, the most in Nationwide Series history. Wallace, who set the record of 520 before the green flag dropped at Texas Motor Speedway’s fall race, passed Jason Keller for the most starts.

Tags: Amber Cope Angela Cope Bobby Labonte Brad Keselowski Brian Vickers Carl Edwards Charlotte Motor Speedway Chicagoland Speedway Clint Bowyer Dale Earnhardt Jr Danica Patrick Daytona International Speedway Dover International Raceway Elliott Sadler Iowa Speedway Jennifer Jo Cobb Joe Nemecheck Joey Logano Justin Allgaier Kyle Busch Las Vegas Motor Speedway Mark Martin Martin Truex Jr. Matt Kenseth NASCAR Nationwide Series Randy LaJoie Reed Sorenson Ricky Stenhouse Jr Road America Roush-Fenway Racing Talladega Superspeedway Tony Stewart Trevor Bayne

comments powered by Disqus