Austin Dillon (L), driver of the #3 Bass Pro Shops/Tracker Chevrolet, poses with his crew cheif Danny Stockman Jr. (R)after winning the 2011 Series Championship in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Ford 200 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 18, 2011 in Homestead, Florida. (Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images for NASCAR

By the Numbers: 2011 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series


1–Last lap passes for the win: Michael Waltrip, whose spoiler fell off his truck with two laps to go, passes Elliott Sadler in the season opener at Daytona. The win for Waltrip came 10 years after his 1st Daytona 500 win and the day Dale Earnhardt, Sr. was killed. Waltrip was in the No. 16 truck in the honor of that faithful day.

2–Drivers who scored their first career win in 2011: Michael Waltrip at Daytona and Denny Hamlin in Martinsville.

3–Consecutive victories accomplished by two drivers: Kyle Busch with wins at Nashville, Dover, and Charlotte and Kevin Harvick with wins at Pocono, Michigan, and Bristol

4– Drivers who finished in the top 10 in points who are 21 years or younger: Austin Dillion is 21, James Buescher is 21, Joey Coulter is 21, and Cole Whitt is 20.

5– Best place of finish for the rookie of the year, Joey Coulter, which he accomplished five times at Kansas, Texas, Iowa, Martinsville, and Homestead. He also won the Rookie of the Year Award by five points.

6– Drivers who helped Kevin Harvick, Inc.’s No. 2 truck win the 2011 Owners’ Championship: Kevin Harvick, Elliott Sadler, Clint Bowyer, Ron Hornaday, Jr., David Mayhew, and Cale Gale.

12– Drivers who won a race in 2011. Multiple winners: Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Ron Hornaday, Austin Dillon, and Johnny Sauter. One time winners: Clint Bowyer, Matt Crafton, Denny Hamlin, Kasey Kahne, Timothy Peters, Mike Wallace, and Michael Waltrip.

15– Pole winners in 2011, which tied for the most in a season in series history(four other times). Five drivers scored their first career poles: Steve Aprin, James Buescher, Ricky Carmichael, David Mayhew, and Cole Whitt. Buescher scored three poles, second most to Austin Dillon’s five.

29–Points third-place James Buescher finished behind champion Austin Dillon. Buescher failed to qualify for the second race of the season, at Phoenix.  Buescher led all drivers with 19 top-10s and only twice finished outside the top 20 and only one worse than 29th.

Tags: Austin Dillion Cale Gale Clint Bowyer Cole Whitt David Mayhew Denny Hamlin Elliott Sadler James Buescher Joey Coulter Johnny Sauter Kasey Kahne Kevin Harvick Kyle Busch Matt Crafton Michael Waltrip Mike Wallace NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Ricky Carmichael Steve Aprin Timothy Peters

comments powered by Disqus