Photo by Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images for NASCAR

Rick Hendrick Continues to Dominate NASCAR

Welcome to the third day of 2012. As we are almost 53 days from the Daytona 500, I just wanted to reiterate that Jimmie Johnson is not the defending NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion for the first time in five years.

If it weren’t for Tony Stewart’s amazing run in the 2011 Chase for the Sprint Cup, Carl Edwards would have claimed the title for Ford Motorsports.

Many NASCAR fans were excited to see a new champion that wasn’t in the Hendrick Motorsports camp, but I hate to point this out but Stewart-Haas Racing gets a lot of equipment and support from Hendrick Motorsports.

Rick Hendrick still came out on top.

While it’s easy for all the anti-Jimmie/Hendrick crowd to get excited about the changing of the guard after the last race of the 2011 season, it’s a reality check that is needed. Nothing really changed other than the drivers name.

Jimmie was still strong, and will likely return to form in 2011. Stewart definitely has the shot to make another run Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt, Jr., and now Kasey Kahne all have good changes of winning it all in 2012. A seventh consecutive championship for Hendrick is a real possibility.

Unless someone from Roush-Fenway Racing, Richard Childress Racing, Penske Racing, or even Joe Gibbs Racing can step up their game and take the title from the Hendrick gang, NASCAR will continue to be the domain of Rick Hendrick.

Other teams may win races and be in contention for the crown, but in the end its a Hendrick world and we all just race in it.

Tags: Dale Earnhardt Jr Hendrick Motorsports Jeff Gordon Jimmie Johnson Kasey Kahne NASCAR Sprint Cup Stewart-Haas Racing Tony Stewart

comments powered by Disqus