The Monsters 1st Opponent: Lucas Oil 200

With a return to action Friday Night, The National Camping World Truck Series is the first to take on the Monster Mile, at the Dover International Speedway this weekend. The Trucks have been idle for a couple of weeks, last running at Charlotte on May 18th.

Although Kyle Busch broke up the trend last year, of 11 consecutive first time winners, by winning for the second time at the Valley Of Concrete, he will not win a third this time. 2009 race winner Brian Scott will be driving the No. 18 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota Friday evening, relegating his boss to watching from the owners box.

Five drivers got their first NCWTS win at Dover, during the 11 new winners in 12 races time frame. They were Jason Leffler, Chad Chaffin, Scott Speed, Brian Scott and Aric Almirola.

NCWTS rookie Ty Dillon will be going for his sixth consecutive Top 10 finish at Dover on Friday. He tied a record 5 races with finishes in the Top 10 by a rookie, at Charlotte two weeks ago. This record was previously  held by the Late Ricky Hendrick in 2001. This is a feat never accomplished by former Truck Stars, current Sprint Cup points leader Greg Biffle, former Sprint Cup Champion, Kurt Busch and NCWTS top rookies, Carl Edwards and Travis Kvapil.

As usual, at Dover a premium will be paid on Tire Management. The tracks abrasive concrete surface will wear out tires in a hurry. Look for crew chiefs to change tires at every opportunity. Keeping fresh Goodyear Eagles on the Trucks, will be key in keeping their drivers out of the jaws of the monster.

The Speed Channel will be broadcasting this race live for the first time in quite a few years. This means that you won’t have to wait until midnight to see it on a Tape Delay. With a cast of young aggressive drivers knowing they will be viewed in Prime Time, expect to see  exciting Door-To-Door racing that will begin as soon as the Green Flag is waved on this one mile track.


Photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR

Follow Me On Twitter @Spin_47


Tags: Aric Dover International Speedway Greg Biffle Kurt Busch Kyle Busch NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Ricky Hendrick

comments powered by Disqus