Vote for NASCAR's most popular

The National Motorsports Press Association recently announced the 10 finalists in the running for NASCAR’s Most Popular Driver. Those finalists are (in alphabetical order): Kyle Busch Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Bobby Labonte and Tony Stewart.

“The voice of the fan continues to be heard through the Most Popular Driver award,” NMPA President Rea White said. “These drivers are each great representatives of the sport and of its fan base.”

More than a half-million votes were cast in the opening round, according to a release from the NMPA. The aforementioned drivers’ tallies have since been resent to zero and fans have until 11:59 p.m. ET Nov. 18 to cast votes for the winner.

Votes may be cast at Fans may vote once per day for their favorite(s). The winner will be announced during the NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Luncheon during Champion’s Week in Las Vegas in November.

Earnhardt is the nine-time reigning winner of the award. That’s not a record, though. Bill Elliott previously claimed the honor for 10-consecutive years and is the all-time most popular title winner with 16.


— Photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR

— Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Twitter
— Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: Dale Earnhardt Jr Most Popular Driver NASCAR

comments powered by Disqus