Chevy claims manufacturer's titles across the board

When Jimmie Johnson took the checkered flag in the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday, the victory locked up the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series manufacturer’s championship for Chevrolet. The auto maker had already clinched the manufacturer’s titles in NASCAR’s other two national series — Nationwide and Camping World Truck.

“Chevrolet is proud to win all three NASCAR national series manufacturer’s championships,” Chevrolet US Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports Jim Campbell said. “These three titles are a tribute to the passion and commitment of all of our team owners, crew chiefs, crews, drivers and technical partners.”

With the manufacturer’s championship in the Sprint Cup Series already secured this year, 2012 marks the 10th-consecutive year that Chevrolet has claimed the honor and the 36th time, overall. It’s the fourth time that Chevrolet has claimed the honor in all three series.

At the Sprint Cup level, Chevrolet has won 13 races in the 34 races completed so far this year, with two races left in the season at Phoenix International Raceway and Homestead-Miami Speedway. Johnson also represents the manufacturer atop the Sprint Cup championship points standings with a seven-point lead over Dodge driver Brad Keselowski heading into the final two races of the season.

Johnson’s win at Texas was also a milestone win for Chevrolet in another way. It marked the 700th victory in top-level NASCAR competition.

Chevy captured the manufacturer’s title in the Truck Series just two days earlier with a third-place finish for Nelson Piquet Jr. on Friday night, also at Texas Motor Speedway. The Nationwide Series honor came a couple of weeks earlier at Kansas Speedway when Austin Dillon took runner-up honors.

“Congratulations and thank you to all of our teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series who worked tirelessly to capture these prestigious championships for Chevrolet,” Director of Chevrolet Racing Mark Kent said. “These championships were made possible by an extraordinary level of cooperation among all of our teams, technical partners and Chevrolet engineers. We are now focused on a strong finish to the 2012 NASCAR season in NASCAR.”

In addition to Johnson’s position atop the driver points standings in the Sprint Cup Series, Chevrolet drivers also hold down spots atop the driver standings at both the Nationwide and Camping World Truck levels. Elliott Sadler leads the way in the Nationwide Series, and James Buescher is the points leader in the Truck Series.

Other racing championships won by Chevrolet and Chevrolet drivers/teams this year include the American Le Mans Series GT manufacturer’s championship, team championship and driver’s championship for Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner. In the Izod IndyCar Series, Chevy also claimed the manufacturer’s title, Chevrolet driver Ryan Hunter-Reay won the series oval and overall championships and Will Power took the road course title.

Chevy also took the the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series Daytona Prototype Engine manufacturer’s championship.

– Photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR

– Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook

– Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: Camping World Truck Series Chevrolet NASCAR Nationwide Series Sprint Cup Series Texas Motor Speedway

comments powered by Disqus