Keselowski chosen Driver of the Year

On Thursday, 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Brad Keselowski was named Driver of the Year, as voted on by US motorsports journalist. Keselowski’s selection was almost unanimous, as the first-time Cup champion received 18 of a possible 19 first-place votes. The other vote went to IZOD IndyCar champion Ryan Hunter-Reay.

“To be honored with the 2012 Driver of the Year is a great way to top off our champions season,” Keselowski said in a press release. “The list is definitely a ‘Who’s Who’ in the history of racing. It gives me great pride to see my name there with the likes of Mark Donohue and Mario Andretti, drivers who have transcended one particular discipline or series and are considered some of the best to ever sit in a race car.”

Previous winners of the award that dates back to 1967 include NASCAR legends like Dale Earnhardt and Darrell Waltrip and current NASCAR drivers like Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart and Jimmie Johnson. Drivers from other racing series who have won the award include Andretti, Donohue, Emerson Fittipaldi and John Force.

“It was a terrific 2012 season by Brad and the entire Miller Lite/Penske Racing team,” car owner Roger Penske said. “We are proud of all Brad has accomplished this season, and we certainly congratulate him.”

Keselowski’s championship season included five race wins, 13 top-fives and 23 top-finishes in 36 starts.

— Photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: Brad Keselowski Driver Of The Year NASCAR

comments powered by Disqus