Voting open for NASCAR's popularity contest

Fan voting is open for the yearly NASCAR National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) Most Popular Driver Award, an award Dale Earnhardt Jr. has received the last 10 years.

“Dale Jr.’s fans have really staked a claim on this award for the past decade, but the vote could get interesting this year,” NMPA President Kenny Bruce said. “We’ve had some close competitions in the past, so there are actually multiple drivers who could break the streak, and Danica (Patrick) is certainly one of them.”

Fans may vote once daily throughout the season at There are 39 drivers on the ballot this year, including Earnhardt and series rookie Danica Patrick. Voting will end at 11:59 p.m. ET Nov. 17. The winner will be announced at the NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Luncheon during Champion’s Week in Las Vegas in December.

Earnhardt’s 10-consecutive awards make up his full tally. Bill Elliott is the most decorated driver as far as the Most Popular Driver Award goes, winning the honor 16 times. The Most Popular Driver Award has been handed out every year since 1956.

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner.

Tags: Dale Earnhardt Jr Danica Patrick Most Popular Driver NASCAR NMPA

comments powered by Disqus