NASCAR Hall of Fame nominees for 2014 announced

NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C., announced on Wednesday the 25 nominees to be considered for 2014 induction into the Hall of Fame. Twenty of the 25 nominees were those on the previous ballott who didn’t achieve Hall induction earlier this year.

The five new names on the ballott include 1999 Winston Cup champion and current TV analyst Dale Jarrett, Speedway Motorsports Inc. CEO Bruton Smith, 1960 top level champion Rex White, five-time NASCAR Weekly Racing Series champion Larry Phillips and legendary engine builder Maurice Petty.

The returning nominees include Red Byron, Richard Childress, Jerry Cook, H. Clay Earles, Tim Flock, Ray Fox, Anne B. France, Rick Hendrick, Jack Ingram, Bobby Isaac, Fred Lorenzen, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, Les Richter, Fireball Roberts, T. Wayne Robertson, Wendell Scott, Ralph Seagraves, Curtis Turner and Joe Weatherly.

The nominees were chosen by a 21-member committee made up of NASCAR officials, NASCAR Hall of Fame representatives and track owners.

The inductees will be voted on by a 54-member voting panel that will include the above-mentioned nominating committee, selected media members and industry veterans. There will also be a fan vote on The results from the fan vote will count as a single ballott. The next class of five inductees will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame in early 2014.

According to USA Today‘s Nate Ryan (a member of the voting panel), the three top vote getters among the 20 carry-overs from the last ballott were Roberts, Cook and Flock. Roberts actually tied with 2013 inductee Buck Baker, but lost out to Baker in a tie-breaking vote.

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: NASCAR NASCAR Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus