NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees for 2014 announced

NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame on Wednesday revealed the identities of the five individuals to be inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2014. They include:

Tim Flock: won 39 races at NASCAR’s top level and was a two-time champion (1952 and 1955).

Jack Ingram: was a two-time champion of NASCAR’s Busch (now-Nationwide) Series (1982 and 1985), and a winner of 31 races in that division.

Dale Jarrett: 1999 Winston (now-Sprint) Cup Series champion and winner of 32 Cup-level races. He won the Daytona 500 three times (1993, 1996 and 2000). Now a broadcaster for ABC/ESPN.

Maurice Petty: as an engine builder at Petty Enterprises for cousin and driver Richard Petty, was instrumental in 198 race wins and seven Cup championships.

Fireball Roberts: won 33 premier level races, including the Daytona 500 (1962) and two victories in the Southern 500 at Darlington (S.C.) Raceway (1958 and 1963).

These individuals will be officially inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in early 2014 during a ceremony at the Hall in Uptown Charlotte. They were selected from a group of 25 nominees by the 54-member NASCAR Hall of Fame voting panel. The voting panel included motorsports journalists, former racers, track operators and other industry insiders. There was also a fan vote among the bunch, as fans were able to vote for their favorite nominees at The result of that poll was combined into a single ballott.

The 25 nominees from which the voting panel, and fans, had to choose included: Red Byron, Jerry Cook, Flock, Ingram, Bobby Isaac, Jarrett, Fred Lorenzen, Benny Parsons, Larry Phillips, Roberts, Wendell Scott, Curtis Turner, Joe Weatherly, Rex White, Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Raymond Parks, Petty, Ray Fox, H. Clay Earles, Les Richter, Bruton Smith, Anne Bledsoe France, T. Wayne Roberts, Ralph Seagraves,

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner.

Tags: Dale Jarrett NASCAR NASCAR Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus