NASCAR television schedule now complete

With an expansion in the agreement between NASCAR and FOX Sports, NASCAR’s three national series — Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Camping World Trucks — are covered for the next several years. With the recent announcements of NBC Sports taking over the last portion of the Sprint Cup and Nationwide schedules, beginning in 2015, and the bowing out of NASCAR coverage for ESPN and Turner Sports (via TNT), a void of the first half or so of the Nationwide Series season and a handful of races on the Sprint Cup side.

That void was filled via an announcement from NASCAR and FOX Sports on Thursday. In addition to extending their agreement for additional years (until 2024), FOX picked up the first 14 races of the Nationwide schedule (those not picked up by NBC) and added to its Sprint Cup plate, bringing that series’ total of yearly races across the FOX family of networks to 16 points-paying races. FOX will continue complete coverage of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series schedule.

“FOX Sports has been an outstanding partner for NASCAR, and we could not be more pleased with the additional commitment they are making to our sport and the fans,” NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France. “FOX Sports has delivered for our fans a number of innovations that have changed how our sport is presented, and our entire industry has now come to expect excellence from NASCAR on FOX. We believe this new agreement underscores our shared commitment to the fans over the next decade.”

With the FOX announcement, added with the previous announcement from NBC, here’s how the three series will be covered.

All truck races will be carried on a FOX station

The first 14 Nationwide Series races will be carried by a FOX station, with the final 19 carried by an NBC station

The first 16 Sprint Cup Series races will be carried by a FOX station, and the final 20 will be carried by an NBC station.

FOX stations include FOX and the new FOX Sports 1. NBC stations include NBC and NBCSports. According to NASCAR, a total of 16 of the 36 points-paying Sprint Cup Series races will be on network television, i.e. NBC and FOX, with nine on FOX and seven on NBC.

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner.


comments powered by Disqus