Jeff Burton to be inducted into Talladega Walk of Fame

NASCAR Testing - Las VegasNASCAR Sprint Cup Series veteran driver Jeff Burton has been chosen as the 2013 inductee into the Talladega Walk of Fame at Davey Allison Memorial Park in Talladega, Ala. He’ll be officially inducted at 7 p.m. CT on Oct. 18 — the Friday that is part of the upcoming NASCAR race weekend at the Talladega Superspeedway. The induction ceremony is free and open to the public.

The Davey Allison Memorial Park is dedicated to the memory and accomplishments of the late Davey Allison, who was a Hueytown, Ala., resident killed in a helicopter crash near Talladega Superspeedway in July 1993. Allison claimed his first NASCAR then-Winston Cup Series win in 1987 at his home track of Talladega. He competed at NASCAR’s top level for five full-time seasons, making 191 starts. In that time, he made 19 trips to victory lane. His wins included the 1992 Daytona 500.

Burton was selected for induction by fan vote. Voting was conducted online through the Walk’s website — Voting was open from April through July. Other drivers on this year’s ballot included Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards, Robby Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson, Jamie McMurray, Joe Nemechek and Michael Waltrip.

Burton is a 21-time winner in NASCAR’s Sprint Cup Series. He also has 27 wins in the Nationwide Series. He currently drives the No. 31 Chevrolet for Richard Childress Racing, a ride he’ll vacate at the end of the season. He previously drove the No. 99 for Roush Fenway Racing. Burton left RFR for RCR during the 2004 season, first driving then No. 30 for Childress and then the No. 31. He is expected to cut back to a part-time schedule in 2014.

Previous inductees include Brad Keselowski, Bill Rexford, Ryan Newman, Speedy Thompson, Kasey Kahne, Jim Pashcal, Morgan Shepherd, Jack Smith, Bobby Labonte, Rex White, Matt Kenseth, Terry Labonte, Tony Stewart, Rusty Wallace, Kevin Harvick, Herb Thomas, Kyle Petty, Fonty Flock, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Fred Lorenzen, Mark Martin, Red Byron, Bobby Isaac, Ricky Rudd, Buck Baker, Joe Weatherly, Bobby Hamilton, Fireball Roberts, Darrell Waltrip, Tim Flock, Jeff Gordon, Harry Gant, Lee Petty, Bill Elliott, David Pearson, Junior Johnson, Dale Jarrett, Ned Jarrett, Buddy Baker, Ernie Irvin, Alan Kulwicki, Cale Yarborough, Dale Earnhardt, Richard Petty, Benny Parsons, Bobby Allison, Donnie Allison, Neil Bonnett and Red Farmer.

Previously, at least one active and one inactive driver were selected for induction, but for 2013, Burton is the only inductee.

– Photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: Jeff Burton NASCAR Talladega Superspeedway Talladega Walk Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus