NASCAR releases 2014 Sprint Cup schedule

NASCAR announced on Tuesday its Sprint Cup Series schedule for 2014. As in recent years past, the season will consist of 36 points-paying races and two non-points events, the Sprint Unlimited on Feb. 15 at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway and the Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 17.

Changes include the first Sprint Cup night race at Kansas Speedway in Kansas City on May 10. The event at Darlington (S.C.) Raceway will be moved to April 12 to run under cooler conditions than the former date in May.

As usual, the season will start at Daytona, with the first points-paying race being the Daytona 500 on Feb. 23. The 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup postseason will, again, kick off at Chicagoland Speedway on Sept. 24. The season finale will be at Homestead-Miami Speedway Nov. 16.

NASCAR also announced that the Air Titan track-drying system that has been available at select tracks in 2013 will be at every Sprint Cup track in 2014 to dramatically decrease drying time if and when rain delays on-track activity.

“This season has delivered plenty of drama and excitement, and we’re anticipating even more for our fans in 2014, now that the Gen-6 car has competed at every track,” Senior Vice President of Racing Operations Steve O’Donnell said. “Having the Air Titan at each NASCAR Sprint Cup Series weekend allows us to meet a very important goal set by our Chairman and CEO Brian France — to drastically decrease track-drying time to the best of our ability and ensure our fans in the stands and those watching on TV get to see each race on its scheduled day.”

Here’s a look at the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule:

Feb. 15 — Sprint Unlimited (Daytona)

Feb. 20 — Daytona 500 duel qualifying races (Daytona)

Feb. 23 — Daytona 500

March 2 — Phoenix International Raceway

March 9 — Las Vegas Motor Speedway

March 16 — Bristol (Ten.) Motor Speedway

March 23 — Auto Club Speedway (Fontana, Calif.)

March 30 — Martinsville (Va.) Speedway

April 6 — Texas Motor Speedway

April 12 — Darlington (S.C.) Raceway

April 26 — Richmond (Va.) International Raceway

May 4 — Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway

May 10 — Kansas Speedway

May 17 — Sprint All-Star Racing (Charlotte)

May 25 — Charlotte Motor Speedway

June 1 — Dover (Del.) International Speedway

June 8 — Pocono Raceway

June 15 — Michigan International Speedway

June 22 — Sonoma (Calif.) Raceway

June 28 — Kentucky Speedway

July 5 — Daytona

July 13 — New Hampshire Motor Speedway

July 27 — Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Aug. 3 — Pocono

Aug. 10 — Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International

Aug. 17 — Michigan

Aug. 23 — Bristol

Aug. 31 — Atlanta Motor Speedway

Sept. 6 — Richmond


Sept. 14 — Chicagoland Speedway

Sept 21 — New Hampshire

Sept. 28 — Dover

Oct. 5 — Kansas

Oct. 11 — Charlotte

Oct. 19 — Talladega

Oct. 26 — Martinsville

Nov. 2 — Texas

Nov. 9 — Phoenix

Nov. 16 — Homestead-Miami Speedway

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Head out to the first point qualifying race of the Nascar Spring Cup Series on February 23, 2014 by picking up your Daytona 500 tickets here.

Tags: 2014 Schedule NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

comments powered by Disqus