Ross Chastain wins truck pole at Phoenix

Ross Chastain claimed his second-career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series pole on Friday, as his 26.987-second lap around Phoenix International Raceway was fast enough for the first starting spot for Friday night’s Lucas Oil 150 at the track. He was the only driver to turn in a qualifying time under 27 seconds. Erik Jones will join Chastain on the front row of the starting grid after posting a 27.033-second lap.

Brendan Gaughan will start third on Friday night and share the second row with James Buescher. Max Gresham rounded out the top-five in qualifying.

Qualifying sixth through 10th were Cale Gale, Johnny Sauter, Ryan Sieg, championship points leader Matt Crafton and Joey Coulter.

Thirty-six trucks, the exact number needed for a full race field, made qualifying attempts, so all drivers who made a qualifying lap claimed a starting spot for the race.

Here is the remainder of the starting line-up for the Lucas Oil 150:

11. German Quiroga

12. Ty Dillon

13. Darrell Wallace Jr.

14. Daniel Hemric

15. John Wes Townley

16. Chase Elliott

17. Miguel Paludo

18. Timothy Peters

19. John Hunter Nemechek

20. D.J. Kennington

21. Ron Hornaday

22. Brennan Newberry

23. Steve Wallace

24. Jeb Burton

25. Dakoda Armstrong

26. Ryan Blaney

27. Mason Mingus

28. David Starr

29. J.J. Yeley

30. Chris Jones

31. Bryan Silas

32. Jennifer Jo Cobb

33. Norm Benning

34. Mike Harmon

35. Steve Smith

36. Chad Frewaldt

– Photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: NASCAR Phoenix International Raceway Ross Chastain

comments powered by Disqus