Awards handed out during NMPA Myers Brothers Luncheon

In addition to Tony Stewart claiming the Myers Brothers Award for his contributions to the sport of stock car racing, Dale Earnhardt Jr. claiming a record 11th-consecutive Most Popular Driver Award, and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. being officially recognized as the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Rookie of the Year on Thursday during the National Press Association’s Myer’s Brothers Luncheon in Las Vegas, several other sponsor contingency program and industry award winners were announced during the event. The full list of award winners includes:

NMPA Myers Brothers Award: Tony Stewart

NMPA NASCAR Most Popular Driver Award: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Buddy Shuman Award: Chevrolet, Ford and Toyota

NASCAR Marketing Achievement Award: Coca-Cola

3M Lap Leader Award: Matt Kenseth

American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Kyle Busch

Coors Light Pole Award: Denny Hamlin

Duralast Brakes “Brake in the Race” Award: Jimmie Johnson

Freescale “Wide Open” Award: Matt Kenseth

Goodyear Tires Award (Champion): Jimmie Johnson

MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award: Scott Fox of Hendrick Motorsports’ No. 48 team

Mechanix Wear Most Valuable Pit Crew Award: Hendrick Motorsports’ No. 88 team

Mobil 1 Driver of the Year Award: Matt Kenseth

MOOG Steering & Suspension Problem Solver of the Year Award: Matt Borland, crew chief on the No. 39 Stewart-Haas Racing team

Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap Award: Carl Edwards

Sunoco Diamond Performance Award (Champion): Jimmie Johnson

Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Champion Sponsor Award: Lowe’s

Champion Crew Chief: Chad Knaus

– Photo courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: Myers Brothers Luncheon NASCAR NMPA

comments powered by Disqus