NASCAR Sprint Unlimited fan voting underway

Voting is now open, allowing fan input on the format of the Sprint Unlimited race for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series pole winners from last season that is scheduled for Feb. 15 at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway.

What is already set, is the 75-lap total distance. Fans, though, may vote on exactly how those laps are broken up into three segments. They also may vote on how drivers will line up at the start of the race and for the restart of the final segment.  Votes may be made with the official NASCAR application, NASCAR Mobile or online at Votes cast through NASCAR Mobile will count twice in the final tally. Voting will close at 6 p.m. ET the day of the event.

Here are the options:

— 30 laps, 35 laps and 10 laps
— 30 laps, 30 laps and 15 laps
— 30 laps, 25 laps and 20 laps

— most career poles (most to least)
— 2013 driver points standings (highest to lowest)
— final practice speeds (fastest to slowest)

— fastest lap in the race to that point
— most laps led
— the order in which drivers come off pit road after mandatory pit stop

Below, are the drivers eligible to compete in this year’s Sprint Unlimited  by either winning at least one pole last season or previously winning the event:

Denny Hamlin
Kyle Busch
Joey Logano
Jimmie Johnson
Matt Kenseth
Ryan Newman
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Jeff Gordon
Carl Edwards
Marcos Ambrose
Kurt Busch
Kevin Harvick
Brad Keselowski
Mark Martin
Jamie McMurray
Danica Patrick
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Terry Labonte
Ken Schrader
Tony Stewart

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: Daytona International Speedway NASCAR Sprint Unlimited

comments powered by Disqus