NASCAR Hall of Fame officially adds five

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

On Wednesday night, the NASCAR Hall of Fame inducted its 2014 class of five — Tim Flock, Jack Ingram, Dale Jarrett, Maurice Petty and Glenn “Fireball” Roberts – during a ceremony at the Hall of Fame in Uptown Charlotte.

The three surviving members of the class — Ingram, Jarrett and Petty — were in attendance to accept the honor, while Flock was represented by widow Frances Flock and Roberts by grandson Matt McDaniel.

Petty became the fourth member of the Petty family to be inducted, joining his father Lee Petty, brother Richard Petty and cousin Dale Inman in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

“Who would have thought growing up that there would be guys, four of us, out of a small, rural country community that would be in the Hall of Fame,” Petty said.

NASCAR Hall of Fame induction was also a family affair for Jarrett, who joined his father Ned Jarrett as a Hall of Fame member.

“I may have the most unique perspective,” Jarrett said, comparing his life to other Hall of Famers, pointing out that he had the opportunity to race against or watch, in person, his father race against most of his fellow NASCAR Hall of Fame members.

Meanwhile, Jack Ingram was honored as the first driver to be inducted for his accomplishments in the Late Model Sportsman Series and the Busch (now-Nationwide Series).

“This is a major lifetime achievement for me,” Ingram said. “While I’ve won driving the car, I had plenty of help and support along the way; otherwise I wouldn’t be here.

Check out photos, below, of the latest class of inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame (photos courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR and ISC Archives):

Tim Flock










Tim Flock

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus