Fantasy Power Rankings - Daytona

Welcome to my weekly series of Power Rankings for the upcoming NASCAR  race. There are the common power rankings for drivers that are hot but this series concentrates on what the driver does at particular tracks.

I believe this series can give you a different perspective in making those tough decisions for your weekend fantasy picks.

The first race of the season is at Daytona and while most think of this race as a wild card match, I beg to differ.

Yes this track produces first time winners but not as much as you might think. Its been done 7 times during the span of 54 years with Trevor Bayne being the lastest to take the checkers. Other first time winners are as follows:

Tiny Lund 1963

Mario Andretti 1967

Pete Hamilton 1970

Darek Cope 1990

Sterling Marlin 1994

Michael Waltrup 1991

Austin Dillion is a good filler pick for this weekend and having the pole makes it more tempting to make the pick but pole sitters haven’t fared to well at Daytona.

You have to go back to the year 2000 for the last pole sitter to win at Daytona and that was Hall of Famer Dale Jarrett. This is a amazing if you think about it with all the talent we currently have in NASCAR since 2000.

If your looking for multi winners at Daytona we only have three active drivers at this time unless Michael Waltrup decides to give it a go. Jeff Gordon has won three times, Jimmie Johnson has won twice and Matt Kenseth has won twice.

Manufacturer with the most wins at the Daytona 500 is Chevrolet with 22 wins followed by Ford with 13 wins. Toyota has never won the Daytona 500.

Here is the the top ten power rankings at Daytona including the Fire Cracker 400 in the summer for the last five years.

10- Matt Kenseth: 2 wins, 3 top  5’s and 4 top tens.

9- Kevin Harvick: 1 win, 2 top 5’s and 5 top tens.

8- Paul Menard: 0 wins, 0 top 5’s and 3 top tens.

7- Tony Stewart: 1 win, 2 top 5’s and 2 top tens.

6- Carl Edwards: 0 wins, 1 top 5 and 5 top tens.

5- Clint Bowyer: 0 wins, 2 top 5’s and 2 top tens.

4- Jeff Burton: 0 wins, 3 top 5’s and 3 top tens.

3- Greg Biffle: 0 wins, 2 top 5’s and 3 top tens.

2- Ricky Stenhouse Jr: 0 wins, no top 5’s & 0 top tens.

1- Dale Earnhardt Jr: 0 wins, 4 top 5’s and 5 top tens.

Join me for my weekly series picks after qualifying.



Tags: Carl Edwards Clint Bowyer Dale Earnhardt Jr Dale Jarrett Daytona 500 Derrick Cope Greg Biffle Jeff Burton Jimmie Johnson Kevin Harvick Mario Andretti Matt Kenseth Michael Waltrup NASCAR Paul Menard Ricky Stenhouse Jr Sterling Marlin Steve Hamilton Tiny Lund Tony Stewart

comments powered by Disqus