NASCAR Hall of Fame fan voting open

Fan voting opened yesterday for the 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame class of nominees. There are 20 drivers in the class, and fans may go to to vote on which five individuals they’d like to be voted into the Hall in early 2015.

“The NASCAR Hall of Fame is the only hall of its kind where fans have had a voice in the induction process since its inception,” NASCAR Chief Communications Officer Brett Jewkes said. “And the reason is simple. NASCAR fans are extremely passionate and knowledgeable about the sport and its history, and have demonstrated that with their selections for the first five classes.”

Fans have until noon ET May 20 to cast their online votes. The five nominees who receive the highest percentages of fan votes will make up one ballot of 54 submitted by the NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel. Voting day to select the 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees will be May 21.

Below are the 20 nominees on the ballott (bio information provided by NASCAR Media Group):

Buddy Baker: won 19 times in NASCAR’s premier (now Sprint Cup) series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500

Red Byron: first NASCAR premier series champion, in 1949

Richard Childress: 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

Jerry Cook: six-time NASCAR Modified champion

Bill Elliott: 1988 premier series champion, two-time Daytona 500 winner and 16-time Most Popular Driver

Ray Fox: legendary engine builder and owner of cars driven by Buck Baker, Junior Johnson and others

Rick Hendrick: 14-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

Bobby Isaac: 1970 NASCAR premier series champion

Terry Labonte: Two-time NASCAR premier series champion

Fred Lorenzen: 26 wins and winner of the Daytona 500 and World 600

Raymond Parks: NASCAR’s first champion car owner

Benny Parsons: 1973 NASCAR premier series champion

Larry Phillips: only five-time NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion

Wendell Scott: NASCAR trailblazer was the first African-American NASCAR premier series race winner, and first to be nominated for induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame

O. Bruton Smith: builder of Charlotte Motor Speedway and architect of Speedway Motorsports Inc.

Mike Stefanik: winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships

Curtis Turner: early personality, called the “Babe Ruth of stock car racing”

Joe Weatherly: two-time NASCAR premier series champion

Rex White: 1960 NASCAR premier series champion

Robert Yates: won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: Hall Of Fame NASCAR

comments powered by Disqus