Texas Motor Speedway race postponed until Monday

Mother Nature refused to cooperate with NASCAR on Sunday, as rain has postponed the running of the Duck Commander 500 Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway until Monday. The new projected start time is noon ET. The race is still expected to air live on FOX, despite the new day and time. According to the FOX Sports Twitter account, there will be pre-race coverage, beginning at 11:30 p.m. ET, but it will air on FOX Sports 1.

When the race does get underway, Tony Stewart will start from the pole for the first time in Sprint Cup competition since 2012. Stewart is a two-time winner at Texas. He’ll be joined on the front row by Brad Keselowski, who has started on the front row five of the last six races.

Stewart’s Stewart-Haas Racing teammate Kevin Harvick also has a fast car. Before claiming the third starting spot, Harvick posted the fastest lap, ever, during a NASCAR qualifying session at a mile-and-a-half track with a speed of 198.282 mph.

Kurt Busch, last week’s race winner at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway and teammate to Harvick and Stewart, will start just outside the top-10 in 11th.

Jimmie Johnson and Carl Edwards ate the winningest drivers at TMS among active drivers, each with three wins. Edwards will start the race from the fifth spot, while Johnson starts outside the top-10 in 16th.

“The track has been great for us and winning the pole there last year was a blast,” Edwards said. “We are headed back there in our Fastenal Ford with winning as our only goal.”

The six races, so far in 2014, leading up to the Texas race have produced six different winners. Edwards is among those six winners. Johnson, though, is still seeking his first win of the season.

Kyle Bush, the winner of last year’s race at Texas, will start in the back half of the field, starting 29th.

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner.

Tags: NASCAR Texas Motor Speedway

comments powered by Disqus