Fan voting still open for All-Star Race entry

Voting is ongoing for the final entry into Saturday night’s NASCAR Sprint All-Star race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. That voting is scheduled to close at 7 p.m. ET on Friday and the top vote getter not already qualified for the Sprint All-Star Race who finished on the lead lap in the Friday night Sprint Showdown, also at Charlotte will be announced following the Showdown.

Nineteen drivers are already in the All-Star Race by virtue of winning at least one race in 2013 or to this point in 2014. Those drivers include Greg Biffle, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Earnhardt, Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman, David Ragan, Tony Stewart, Martin Truex Jr. and Brian Vickers.

Driver not aforementioned race in the Sprint Showdown on Friday night, with the top-two finishers claiming starting spots 20 and 21. The 22nd and final spot will go to the fan vote winner. On Monday, NASCAR announced the top-10 vote getters, to that points. They are, in alphabetical order A..J Allmendinger, Aric Almirola, Marcos Ambrose, Clint Bowyer, Austin Dillon, Kyle Larson, Casey Mears, Patrick, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Josh Wise.

Danica Patrick won the fan vote in 2013 and is considered a favorite for this year’s honor. When Dale Earnhardt Jr. doesn’t get into the All-Star Race by virtue of winning or finishing in the top-two of the Showdown, he’s been a lock to receive the fan vote, but Earnhardt is already in as the winner of the 2014 Daytona 500.

Fans may vote by visiting

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: Fan Vote NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race

comments powered by Disqus