Next NASCAR Hall of Fame class chosen Wednesday

The NASCAR Hall of Fame voting panel is scheduled to meet on Wednesday in Charlotte to determine the five individuals to be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in early 2015. An announcement revealing the five inductees is scheduled for 4 p.m. and may be seen live on FOX Sports 1. There will also be a live stream on and the NASCAR channel on Sirius XM Radio will broadcast live.

Here is the list of 20 men from which the voting panel will choose the five inductees:

Buddy Baker — winner of 19 premier level races
Red Byron — first NASCAR top-level champion in 1949
Richard Childress — car owner will 11 championship’s across NASCAR’s three national series
Jerry Cook — six-time Modified champion
Bill Elliott — 1988 Cup champion and 16-time Most Popular driver
Ray Fox — legendary engine builder and car owner for Buck Baker, Junior Johnson and others
Rick Hendrick — car owner with 14 titles across three national series
Bobby Isaac — 1970 top level champion
Terry Labonte — two-time Cup champion
Fred Lorenzen — winner of 26 races
Raymond Parks — first champion car owner
Benny Parsons — 1973 Cup champion
Larry Phillips — five-time Whelen All-American national champion
Wendell Scott — first African-American NASCAR top-level race winner
O. Burton Smith — Charlotte Motor Speedway builder and head of Speedway Motorsports Inc.
Mike Stefanik — holder of nine NASCAR championships
Curtis Turner — early NASCAR personality
Joe Weatherly — two-time NASCAR top-level champion
Rex White — 1960 top level champion
Robert Yates — Cup level champion as car owner and engine builder

Among the members of the voting panel that will select the nominees is reigning Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson. When Johnson casts his ballot on Wednesday, he’ll become the first active athlete to have a say in inductees of a professional sport hall of fame.

“I have my book. I’ve read through it,” Johnson said. “This process is what I’ve been most excited for. I’m a bit nervous about voting; I hear it’s fun and very conversational. A lot of fun to come when we sit down on the 21st (of May) and share opinions.”

As the reigning Sprint Cup Series champion, Johnson is one of 32 members of the voting panel. Votes will also come from the 22-member nominating committee from which the above list of nominees came. In addition, there will be one ballot cast reflecting the results of an online fan vote conducted on

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner


Tags: NASCAR NASCAR Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus