Jun 8, 2014; Long Pond, PA, USA; NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Dale Earnhardt Jr (left) holds the winning trophy with NASCAR Spring Cup Series crew chief Steve Letarte (right) after winning the Pocono 400 at Pocono Raceway. Mandatory Credit: Matthew O

Chase score card: leaving Pocono Raceway

At Pocono Raceway in Long Pond, Pa., on Sunday, Dale Earnhardt Jr. joined the ranks of 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup two-race winners with his victory in the Pocono 400. He became the fourth two-time winner of the season, joining the likes of Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano and Jimmie Johnson as drivers assured of being a part of the expanded 16-driver Chase for the Sprint Cup championship post-season with two trips to victory lane.

Jeff Gordon, winner of one race, so far, this season, leads the way in the points standings with a 16-point lead over second-place driver Matt Kenseth, the only driver in the top-nine who is still without a win.

Two-time winner Kevin Harvick is finally knocking on the door of the top-10, sitting 12 in points, 14 points behind 10th-place driver Kyle Larson, the only winless driver other than Kenseth in the top-10 of the standings.

Kurt Busch, also a race winner this season, remained mired back in the 27th spot after Pocno. Here’s a look at the championship points standings after 14 races (races wins denoted by *):

1. *Jeff Gordon, leader
2. Matt Kenseth, -16
3. **Dale Earnhardt Jr., -22
4. **Jimmie Johnnson, -23
5. *Brad Keselowski, -50
6. *Kyle Busch, -55
7. *Carl Edwrds, -57
8. *Denny Hamlin, -78
9. **Joey Logano, -80
10. Kyle Larson, -81

12. **Kevin Harvick, -95
27. *Kurt Busch, -215

– Photo courtesy of USA Today Sports Images

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner


Tags: Chase For The Sprint Cup NASCAR Pocono Raceway

comments powered by Disqus