Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jimmie Johnson among ESPY nominees

Earlier this week, ESPN announced the nominees for the 2014 ESPY Awards. The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is represented by Hendrick Motorsports drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jimmie Johnson among the list of nominees.

The ESPYs are voted on by fans. Votes may be cast here.

Both drivers are nominees in the Best Driver category. Other drivers nominated in the category include Verizon IndyCar drivers Scott Dixon and Ryan Hunter-Reay and NHRA drag racer John Force.

Both Earhardt and Johnson have made multiple trips to victory lane, already, in 2014. Earnhardt has two wins, including a victory in the season-opening Daytona 500 in February. Right now, Johnson leads the series in wins, with three.

Johnson is nominated for two awards, as he’s also a nominee for Best Championship Performance, along with NBA Finals MVP Kawhi Leonard, Men’s NCAA Basketball Tournament Most Outstanding Player and World Series MVP David Ortiz.

Johnson claimed his sixth Sprint Cup in eight years in 2013, a season that saw him win six races and post 16 top-fives and 24 top-10 finishes in 36 points-paying races. The only driver with more wins last season that Johnson was Matt Kenseth, who led the series with seven trips to victory lane.

Formula One driver Sebastian Vettel is the one other race car driver nominated for an award in a category other than Best Driver. He’s nominated for Best International Athlete, along with tennis player Rafael Nada, female golfer Inbee Park and soccer player Cristiano Ronaldo.

The 2014 ESPYs will be awarded on July 16 at 9 p.m. ET. This year’s awards ceremony will be hosted by Drake and shown live on ESPN.

Follow Stock Car Spin on Twitter @SCSblog or like Stock Car Spin on Facebook. Amanda’s also on Twitter @NASCARexaminer and has a fan/like page on Facebook: NASCAR Examiner

Tags: Dale Earnhardt Jr ESPYs Jimmie Johnson NASCAR

comments powered by Disqus